Mac Marge/ A Novel Romance Collections.

I have always been a huge fan of The Simpsons so when one of my favourite make-up brands announced a collaboration I was so excited, I never managed to get everything I wanted from the collection as Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy was sold out but I am still trying to find a way to get my hands on this.

The Simpsons.

20140831_123925

I ordered three things from this collection, after I realised Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy was sold out I was most excited about Sideshow You Blusher, which I love. It looks so lovely on the skin and is a gorgeous “light peach coral colour” which is my favourite colour to use on the cheeks and is a satin finish, which I am pleased about as I am not a huge fan of shimmer finish blushers. It is slightly more expensive than the Mac blushers by £2 although it has a compact mirror inside the lid and the cute detailing of Marge’s head outlined in the blusher.

20140831_12430720140831_12431720140831_124724

The colour lasts about 8-9 hours before fading on me but I don’t apply it strongly, this blush could be applied lightly with a duo fibre brush, I like to use the Real Techniques Duo Fibre Contour Brush or if I am going for a stronger colour pay-off I like to use the Real Techniques Multi-Task Brush and the blusher can be layered.

20140831_124019      20140831_123935

This blusher is very fine and powdery in the pan but after applying it is easy to blend and layer and doesn’t appear powdery on the skin at all but if you feel is does look powdery you could apply something like Mac Prep + Prime Fix + ( previously Fix+) or rose water helps to reduce the appearance of powder on the skin.

20140831_124347

The next thing I ordered from the collection was Red Blazer Lipglass, I have never ordered a lipglass from Mac before as I am more of a lipstick person but I love the colour and I think it would look great over a red lipstick to make it even more intense.

20140831_124050

The only bad thing I have to say about this is that it feels quite sticky but that is probably because I haven’t worn a Mac lipglass before and never wear lipgloss. This is very highly pigmented for a gloss and stays glossy looking for a few hours but I feel after the gloss goes away it still leaves pigment behind which I like and it doesn’t leave that white cast around the lips.

20140831_124123

This is described as a “Bright Fuchsia” and has some pearl through it which I think looks lovely on the lips, I apply this just using the applicator which applies smoothly onto the lips.

20140831_124454

I also ordered the nail stickers which I haven’t had a chance to use yet but I plan to apply the nail stickers to one nail and paint the rest yellow as there is only really enough for one use so I am trying to make them last as long as possible, I will post an update as soon as I have used the nail stickers.

A Novel Romance.

I ended up ordering some things from this collection after seeing some swatches online, I wasn’t super excited or bothered about this collection until I seen the swatches as it looked gorgeous!

20140831_124656 20140831_12471020140831_124627

The first thing I ordered from this collection was the Electric Cool Eye Shadow in Superwatt, this is described as a “Light shimmering Taupe.” The new formula of these Eye Shadows feels more like a cream than a powder and has 0.6g more product than the usual eye shadow pans as it contains 2.1g of product and this also features Mac’s new eye shadow packaging which has a screw top lid rather than the compact style packaging, this doesn’t really affect me as I usually depot eye shadows although I do feel the screw top can sometimes be hard to open.

20140831_124532 20140831_124547

This eye shadow applies so smooth its like a dream and I find the best way to apply it is with Prep + Prime Fix+ (previously Fix+) sprayed on to a flat eye shadow brush to pack on the colour (Mac 239) and then apply it all over the lid. Using a wet brush gives added intensity to the pigmentation of the eye shadow and the shimmer in it. I would then use something like Wedge by Mac on a Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush to blend out the harsh edges of the shadow and also use Mac Brun on a Mac 266 to lightly line the eyes and thicken the lashline.

20140831_124810 20140831_124821

I also ordered Yield To Love which is described as a “midtone rose” with a cremesheen finish which is one of my favourite finishes I only really like the cremesheen, satin, matte and retro matte finishes from Mac but especially cremesheen for day to day wear as it doesn’t dry out the lips.

20140831_124848

This is a beautiful natural lipstick it’s one of those ‘your lips but better’ shades which I seem to be obsessing over just now and maybe have too many but as I keep saying “They’re all different” they may all look the same to other people but to us make-up junkies they’re all different in some way whether it’s the finish or the undertone.

This lasts about 5 hours on the lips and doesn’t leave that horrible white cast on the lips either.

Some of these products are still available on http://www.maccosmetics.co.uk/

But if not they are available in stores after September 4th.

 

Leave a Reply

